Fårikål sesong!

Fårikål is a traditional Norwegian dish in autumn and is literally boiled mutton and cabbage. As simple as that.

Now, I’ve made the real thing and it’s quite okay, but as a South African my soul cries a little at the thought of boiling wonderful meat, especially good lamb or mutton.

Boiled mutton.

Boiled mutton. Good, but not quite as grand as it could be.

That’s when a phone call to Mom is priceless. My mom makes the best lamb ribs in the world. It is not possible to find better food on this planet. I even end up eating the bones, because I can. So who better to ask for advice when you walk into the shop and there is lamb on sale at a ridiculous price! For realsingtons. This is Norway, land of the most expensive everything, and the price seems reasonable by South African standards. TIME TO FEAST!

First, let me show you the spoils from my shopping trip:

EXCITING!

EXCITING!

Now, my mom says her method of preparing lamb is pretty easy:

  • rub salt and olive oil into the meat,
  • lightly rub whole coriander seeds onto the meat (I love this taste, so I’m not shy to use a whole lot of coriander seeds),
  • bake at 200°C in an open dish for about 20min – this is to brown the meat, and then
  • bake for another 40-ish minutes at 180°C covered.

It’s best to use a large dish with a lid for this, but I only have access to a smaller, deep dish with a lid, so my meat was packed on top of each other. Not perfect, but that’ll do, sheep.

Rubbed in and ready to go. Coriander is more than worth its weight gold.

Rubbed in and ready to go. Coriander is more than worth its weight gold.

After about an hour of tantalising smells, you have great meat with crispy pieces of fat. And now I have food for the next week… I cannot believe I’m lucky enough to have a piece of lamb every night for dinner in Norwegia! This is better than eating out.

Dinner is served!

Dinner is served!

But wait, there’s more…

Since it’s no longer necessary to fear the fat, I don’t throw it away! I poured the left over juices from the baking dish into an empty jar and refrigerated it overnight. Now I have broth and fat that I can use!

DSC_1112

Freshly poured fat…

I’ve been making omelettes with the lamb fat. It’s delicious and I can’t believe I haven’t been doing this forever.

Solidified fat floating on top. Yum yum yum!

Solidified fat floating on top. Scoop it off and save in a separate jar.

So, plan your next trip to Norway during the autumn! It’s beautiful and the meat is phenomenal. You can also be sure that the sheep lived a happy life, especially when they get to roam free in the mountains during the summer months.

